Who I Am and Why I’m Here

My name is Brenda.  I am a retired Jr. High Math teacher who loves to read, paint and care for my cat. I have been retired for eight years and have tried various things to fill my time- rug hooking, snowshoeing, bird watching , volunteer work. The list goes on and every year it’s something new. I love learning new things. I want to live to be 110  so I can see all the new things that are happening in the world.

Even though I taught Math mainly, my favourite subject to teach was English. I loved introducing young people to new words, to show them how to use them to make interesting sentences, to write a sentence or a paragraph that caused suspense or emotion, to put the several paragraphs together into an organized whole.  I did not write for recreation much when I taught because I was so busy with my job and my family.  When I retired and my children had left home, I started a novel but it is unfinished.  I now have a blog in which I imagine my foster cat Buddy telling of his life. I simply love doing it.

I chose to do this course because I want to learn more about blogging. It is so exciting: the writing part and the technology aspect.  I want to write things that people want to read. I want to have a large following. I want to be known in the blogging world. I want to help other people create blogs. I want to create a new blog about words, why they are important and how to use them to make your conversation more interesting. I want to make lots of money.  Okay . Now I’m being silly.

Perhaps I want to do this course because when I start something I go into it fully.  I want to have the best blog I can possibly create. It will talk about words and ideas like phonaesthetics and schadenfreude.  I want my blog to teach and to entertain.

Perhaps I am doing this course because just because it’s the kind of thing I do.

2 thoughts on “Who I Am and Why I’m Here

  1. I hope writing allows you to achieve all the things you’ve listed and if entertaining is on your list of goals – consider yourself successful because one post in and I’m very much entertained.

    Like

Leave a Reply

