Mondays with Buddy. Are you Afraid of Cats?

Are you afraid of cats? Or do you simply adore us? Must you have a little kitty of your own, or two or three of us darling furry creatures, in order to call your house a home?

 

Either way, there’s a name for you.

20151123_094423_resized
Love me or Fear me?

If you have an irrational fear of cats that’s called ailurophobia. [ahy-loo r-uhfoh-bee-uh].  Mommy and the man have a friend named Ron who is afraid of cats.  He is a big man, Mommy said, much bigger than I am but when I meet him I must be nice and stay away from him and not frighten him.

Don’t you think that’s funny. But then, I have a fear,too. I am afraid of  the vacuum cleaner. I wonder if that has a name.

If you love cats like Mommy does you are an ailurophile  [ahy-loo ruh-fahyl]. Mommy is an ailurophile. Mommy has always adored cats.

By now you probably realize that words beginning with ailuro probably have something to do with cats. Here’s another. Ailuromancy.  Ailuromancy involves using cat movement to predict things like the weather.  Some people think that if a cat curls up with its forehead touching the ground it means there is going to be a storm.

I hope I have taught you a few things today. Do you know any other words beginning with ailuro?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Mondays with Buddy. Are you Afraid of Cats?

  1. how about Ailurochat! it means chatting with cats and enjoying it too. Buddy, you need to tell your Mommy to allow you to write more often. 🙂 you have many human and non-human (thats me!) friends here. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

