2015: 85 Books Read

2015 was a good years for my reading but I still was 15 books short of my yearly goal of 100 books. My reading consists of

  1. Classics that I want to read, Pulitzer prize winners, Booker prize winners. I have a long list of books I want to read, and no matter how many I read the list keeps getting longer
  2. Books read for my book club.  This often includes books I would not otherwise read.
  3. Books I pick up a the library or yard sale that I may not have heard of but whose blurb sounds interesting.
  4. Newly published books that I read to be current.

I read most genres. I have never read a graphic novel, though.  Anything else goes. I record the title and author of each book I read and have been doing so since 1994.

Here are the yearly numbers since then:

1994   54

1995    55

1996    34

1997    38

1998    26

1999    27

2000    60

2001    60

2002   100

2003    79

2004    46

2005    65

2006    56

2007    42

2008    57

2009    59

2010    52

1011    55

1012    81

1013    78

1014    78

1015     86

Total   1288        Average per year     58.5

Here is a list of some of the books I read this year.

Rereads Because I Really Enjoy Them

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguru

The Rise and Fall of the Regency Dandy: Scrope Davies by J. A. J. Burnett

I Know Why the Caged bird Sings by Maya Angelou (My Book Club Choice)

Howards End by E. M. Forster

Pre-Raphaelites in Love by Gay Daly

Older Mysteries

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle  (Also a reread)

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie (A reread)

Bratt Farrar by Josephine Tey

Gaudy Night by Dorothy L. Sayers

A Man Lay Dead by Ngaio Marsh

Saint Peter’s Fair by Peter Ellis (A Brother Cadfael Mystery)

A Certain Justice by P. D. Janes

Some Lie and Some Die by Ruth Rendell

Books on My To Read List

A House for Mr. Biswas by V. S. Naipaul

The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellows

Babbitt by Sinclair Lewis

Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Atonement by Ian McEwan

The Time machine by H. G. Wells

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson MCullers

in Our Time by Ernest Hemingway

Flaubert’s Parrot by Julien Barnes

Book Club Books

Queen of the Big Time by Adriana Trigliani

The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom

The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Breaking the Silence by Diane Chamberlain

Resurrection by Tucker Malarkey

Non-Fiction

A World Lit Only by Fire by William Manchester

Victorian London by Liza Picard

Dr. Johnson’s London by Liza Picard

Young Romantics by Daisy Hay

The Peabody Sisters by Megan Marshall

Cod: A Biography of a Fish That Changed the World by Mark Kurlansky

The Man Who Made Lists by Joshua Kendall

The Reformation of the Sixteenth Century by Roland Bainton

Recently Published

The Signature of all Things by Elizabeth Gilbert

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

The Love Song of Miss Queeny Hennessy by Rachel Joyce

This is about half of 2015’s reading so you get the idea of what I read.

Next post will be on the  list of books I’d like to read. Hopefully, I will get through some in 2016.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “2015: 85 Books Read

    1. I am so glad I discovered your blog. I would say The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy and The Signature of All Things were my favourites this year. I did enjoy All The light You cannot See, too. I am about to start the Buried Giant. I’ll let you know how I find it So The Paris wife is about Hemingway and Hadley or the second wife? Must try and get it. A Moveable Feast is on my to read list.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I loved A Moveable Feast. Afterward, I was motivated and wrote the essay Beach Morning (it’s on my blog).

        If a book doesn’t hold my attention, then I abandon it. I must be the only person who couldn’t get into The Paris Wife; tried twice and both times I abandoned. The Buried Giant, too. I got about a third of the way through it and just couldn’t slog along on the couple’s trek with them any longer. Maybe you’ll have better luck….or more patience than me. By the way did you read Rachel Joyce’s prequel, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry?

        Like

      2. Yes and I enjoyed it but the sequel was even more delightful. Espcially the ending. But I have been thinking, can we call them prequel and sequel since they covered the same time period, approximately? What do you think?

        Like

  1. Howards End is on my not too distant list (obviously , with him being a Bloomsberry) and I am pleased that you have found it to be an enjoyable reread. Interestingly, as I found out only last week myself, Howards End does not have an apostrophe.

    Like

    1. Actually, I knew about the apostrophe but habit just made me put it there. Thanks for the reminder.The apostrophe is rather ubiquitous these days. Forster also wrote a less known book called Maurice which veils his hmosexuality and that of its main character. A Passage to India is also good.

      Like

      1. You are right about the over use of the apostrophe and I do have a very keen sense of identifying its inappropriate use a mile off. So many books, so little time!

        Like

Leave a Reply

