A to Z Challenge: I is for In Praise of Messy Lives: Essays

I is for In Praise of Messy : Essays by Katie Roiphe, one of my favourite modern writers.  This book is a collection of ten essays on topics as diverse as incest literature, Joan Dideon, Hillary Clinton, and her own unconventional life.

Perhaps I like Katie Roiphe because I do not know what to expect from her- or perhaps I do-I expect the unconventional view.  She can be called unpolitically correct to a certain extent.  She has said in the past that women in college campuses are at least partly responsible for their actions in many supposed college date rapes.  Women have to stop being victims.  In this book, she defends single parenting and speaks out against those parents who give up their own bohemian lives for getting their child into that perfect school, buying the current healthiest food.

I would recommend this book as well as Roiphe ‘s Uncommon Arrangements: Seven Portraits of Married Life in London’s Literary Circles 1910-1939.

Leave a Reply

